Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to subnavigation Skip to search

All other countries:
International extranets in German

All other countries:
International press centers in German and English
Want to know more about Germany?
Dip into our inspiring eBrochure and get your first impressions about the sheer diversity of Germany as a travel destination. The eBrochure is available in 29 different languages for Windows PC, Macintosh Computers and Linux PC.

Download eBrochure (.zip ∼ 345MB):

Further information:
You can find more information about Germany on our website at:, or on our local websites.


The Federal Republic of Germany

The German Flag; Copyright GNTO, Photo by G. Marth
The Federal Republic of Germany is a democracy with a liberal market economy, religious freedom and freedom of the press. It is a member of the European Union (EU) and of NATO.
The Federal Republic of Germany is a federation of individual states. There are 16 "Bundesländer" which are federal states with their own government. They have their own regional constitutions which have to comply with the principles of a republican, democratic and social state governed by the rule of law as laid down in the Basic Law (Germany's federal constitution). This guarantees that all German people have the same rights, obligations and living conditions. Beyond that, the states are largely free to formulate their own constitutions. The principle of federalism is one of the inviolable principles of the constitution.
The capital city is Berlin.